Spanakopita With Homemade Phyllo Dough

Another gift I got for myself from the credit card cash back points aside from an ice cream maker is a pasta roller. I know I need it not only for making pasta but more on rolling dough especially if I have to make it thin. My right hand has been suffering from mouse hand/arm. Though in between I got some meetings at work, most of the time I’m in front of a computer and maybe from a phone. 

To test the pasta roller,  I decided to make homemade phyllo dough for spanakopita. I have to say it does need some practice. My husband actually helped me since he saw me struggling on this.  And phyllo dough gets wet so it needs to be covered liberally with flour so they won’t stick to each other. We repeatedly have to roll them because they keep sticking. Lesson learned.

This is the phyllo dough recipe.

image

image
I used cider vinegar.

For the spanakopita filings,  I used this recipe from Epicurious.

image

image

image
Brushed them melted butter and ready to be wrapped.

image

image

My parchment paper got spots from the oven roasted tomato I’ve made before.

image

They actually smell so good.  I baked them at 375°F for 25 minutes.  I swapped the pans on the racks half way of the baking.

image

The dough is flaky and tasty. Simply delicious! My kid loves them. I think I should try baklava next time :).

“Learn from yesterday, live for today, hope for tomorrow. The important thing is not to stop questioning.”
-Albert Einstein 

Leave a Reply

