Homemade Soft Pretzels

image

My husband, who loves pretzels asked if I could make pretzels at home. Well he is from NYC.

Last Aug. we decided to visit my in-laws in NY. During that trip we decided to drive to Philly just for food. We went to Reading Terminal Market and in there, they have a pretzel shop. And we thought, it was the best pretzel we have ever eaten. Even our toddler loved it.

So, today I decided to look for homemade soft pretzels. I found The recipe @ Martha Stewart’s website and @ Food Network by Alton Brown. Alton Brown’s recipe got over 400 reviews so I decided to follow his http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/homemade-soft-pretzels-recipe/index.html.

As you could see in the picture, I’ve made pretzel dogs and the plain ones that ended up looking like garlic knot.

Pretzel dogs tasted good but plain ones tasted bitter. I think it’s the baking soda bath. I missed following the 30 secs rule. I dipped them too long. Next time, I’ll dip them quick.

Leave a Reply

