Homemade Shrimp Shao Mai

Two weeks ago, I spotted a bamboo steamer in an Asian market. So, for less than 15 bucks why not?

So last week before the weekend, I put homemade Shao Mai or Shui Mai on my food planner. Then, yesterday I’ve made them!

For the Filling:
2 lbs. of chopped shrimp (shelled and deveined)
3/4 cup of chopped canned chestnut
2 tbsps of cornstarch
1 tbsp. of grated fresh ginger (use food processor)
2/3 of green onions from a bundle
1 tbsp of rice vinegar
1/2 of small finely chopped carrots (optional for the color and since forgot  to  buy mushrooms)
2 tsps of sesame oil
sea salt to taste
sugar to taste
1 pack of store-bought Shui Mai wrappers
Asian cabbage to prevent dim sum sticking on the steamer

I ended up wrapping them like this:

image

I steamed them for 8-10 minutes:

image

I made a sauce with mixing low sodium soy sauce, ginger, sugar and water.

I’ve looked at Martha Stewart’s website and Tyler of Food Network for this recipe.

Next time, I’ll look for recipe to make homemade dim sum wrappers.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Shrimp Shao Mai

Leave a Reply

