Seafood Paella

image

This is my comfort food specially on winter months. I have used Ina Garten’s as my reference before and over time I just made my own adjustments.

Here’s what I put on my paella:
2 lbs. of small clams or called Manila
clams
1 lbs. of large shrimp (deveined)
2 links of chicken apple sausage, skins removed and chopped (regular chicken sausage will work too)
1/2 of chopped red bell pepper
2 cups of uncooked white rice
2 cups of chicken stock
I/2 of chopped white onion
1 cup of frozen peas
1 pinch of saffron threads
olive oil
salt and pepper

Steps:
Boil clams and shrimps with water (just enough to cover them) until shrimps are pink.

Remove shrimps’ shells when cooled then chop them coarsely. And throw the clams that didn’t open.

Put oil on the pot.

When oil is hot, put the onions.

Once onion is ready, put the chopped sausages and cook until brown.

Put chopped red bell peppers and cook for about 2 minutes.

Put the 2 cups of rice, seafood stock (from the boiled seafood), chicken broth and saffron threads.

Cover the pot and let it simmer on low heat until rice is cooked for about 20 minutes.

When rice is ready, put the seafood and green peas.

Then just cook it for few more minutes.

Then ready to eat.

My paella always turns out yellowish instead of orangish color. I think it depends on the saffron threads. But even though it doesn’t have a deep color, it is very flavorful.

Saffrons are very expensive. I always go to the spices section on my grocery store just to check if they are on sale. So, l will always have saffron on my pantry and cook paella as often as I want to.

Last month, when we were in San Diego CA. We went to this French restaurant and I had this mussels in white wine and saffron. Mmmm… it was so good. Saffron is a magic.

Leave a Reply

