Chocoflan: Chocolate Cake and Flan in One

Valentine’s day is on Thursday this week. So, I thought of my date- my husband. He loves flan. I’ve made egg flan several times before, though mostly when there’s a get together or occasion. I use my mom’s recipe and just alter it to my preference.

I’ve bookmarked this long time ago – it’s called Chocoflan. I was just waiting for the right time to make this. I’ve eaten something similar to this but instead of chocolate cake, it was white.

I think this chocoflan cake is actually cool since the cake and flan layer will switch at the end. This is also a good alternative for typical cakes with frostings on top. And flan lover like my husband will love this flan variation.

image

I caramelized the sugar (no cream or milk) just like my mom’s traditional flan instead of the cajeta. I used loaf pans because I prefer not to serve it all at once and easier for me to store. And yes, aluminum foil since these non-stick pans got scratches (they are not old…just missused by me).

image

The flour mixture for the cake. It has chocolate flavor but it’s not too rich.

image
The cake mixture.

image
I added pinch of salt on the flan mixture.

image
The flan mixture on top.

image
It took me 1 hour and 30 minutes to bake this. The cake is now on top.

image
This is it when flipped. The carameIized sugar didn’t look that good on this. I should try caramel sauce next time and didn’t put garnishings.

image
Inside the cake.

image
Another view.

Now I now what to bring on potlucks.

2 thoughts on “Chocoflan: Chocolate Cake and Flan in One

  1. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award | EAT LOVER

Leave a Reply

