Sprinkles’ Strawberry Cupcakes

I love chocolates but if I have to make a choice between chocolate and fruit flavored ice cream or cake,  I always pick the fruit flavored one. I’ve been wanting to make some fruity desserts. Few weeks ago, we bought these strawberries in a wholesale store and they were always sweet before but this time, the strawberries are too sour. I’m the only one eating them. I still want to use them for something instead of dumping them in the trash bin. What about strawberry cake or cupcake? So, I found this recipe. I’ve only eaten Sprinkles’ cupcakes once and that was long time ago that I don’t even remember how they taste like. I gave this recipe a try last week.

image

Strawberry puree.

image

Flour mixture.  In the reviews, some says you need to add baking soda (not in the recipe).  I thought might as well add 1/2 tsp to make sure they will turn out fluffy.

image

Strawberry mixture.

image

It got pretty light pink color.

image

image

Some exploded. So, no need for baking soda. And their color changed to pink grayish.

image

Despite the dull color,  they actually taste good though I could not taste any strawberry on them or maybe it’s just me since for the first time I’m having spring allergy and my taste buds are a little off. So, I decided to make the frosting to give it some strawberry flavor.

image

I was having issue mixing the strawberry puree with the butter. I even decided to use the whisk but still. Then,  I realized that I added the puree straight from the fridge so it made the butter too hard. So I waited until butter is a softer.

image

image

They are delicious and I could say they are strawberry cupcakes. I only made half of the frosting.

image

I will make this one again next time. I think food coloring will fix the color issue and straining the puree in the frosting so it will be smoother. But for now, I’m enjoying these little cupcakes… yummy!

“Enthusiasm moves the world.”
-Arthur Balfour

Leave a Reply

