Indian Chicken in Creamy Tomato Sauce and Homemade Naan Bread

I love Indian food. Lately everytime we go out of town, I always tell my husband that I want to go to a good Indian restaurant but it doesn’t happen. Either we can’t find parking, too far from where we are or just didn’t have time. My husband who claims he is not a big fan an of Indian food but everytime I drag him with me, he actually enjoys the food.
Last week,  I made kung pao chicken with half of the chicken breasts in the freezer and I still have the other half. I found this recipe called butter chicken. I used the chicken breasts instead of rotisserie. Of course Indian food won’t be complete without naan bread.

For the bread.

image

Flour, salt and baking powder.

image

image

image

image

I decided to brush them with oil and crushed garlic to have some more flavor.

The butter chicken.

image

I used ready ground spices and mixed them to make garam masala. If time permits,  next time I’ll try roasting the whole spices then grind.

image

Chicken breast cut in chunks.

image

image

image

image

I decided to simmer it for extra 40 minutes to get the flavor to come together more.

image

Ready to eat. My husband said it’s good and my little one ate it too. I put minimal cayenne and black pepper.

My prayers and thoughts for all the people who were affected by the senseless bombing in Boston.

Leave a Reply

