Mango French Macaroons:My First Attempt On French Macaroons

It’s been a crazy week last week. While they were not very pleasant happenings on other places, I did have unexpected things came up that need to be taken care of asap. I finally had a chance to get back to my kitchen yesterday and thought of making some crazy good desserts. Since I’m crazy over macaroons… well not that crazy, they are one of our favorites and we haven’t had a good one for a while. I could not spot an almond meal that’s on sale but I found on sale blanched almonds so, I decided to make my own. I’ve read everywhere that if grinding your own, they will turn out a little denser and grainy compared to the store bought one but since it’s my first time making them I want to give it a try and see how it will turn out (since almond meal isn’t cheap).

Making almond meal.
image

image

Macaroon time. I found this easy macaroon recipe.
image
Almond meal and powdered sugar mixed them in food processor. I sifted this mixture once.
image
Egg white mixture. I added a pinch of cream of tartar since other recipes on the site ask for it.
image
image
I used a template using white paper with circles.
image
First batch out from the oven.
image
The second batch have smoother top and I didn’t flatten them.
image
20 minutes at 300°F turned out to be perfect. They are crunchy outside and chewy inside.

White chocolate mango filling. During this time of the year, sweet yellow mangoes are in season. I thought it will be a good idea to have fruity flavored macaroons.
image
Pureed 1 yellow mango.
image
White chocolates – one 4 oz bar and some left over morsels.

image
Boiled mango and about 1/2 cup heavy cream then poured on the chocolates.
image
After mixing together, the mango flavor faded with the chocolates 😦

image
The filing was a little runny so I have put the macaroons in the fridge. Maybe I should chill the filling first next time.

image

I don’t mind making my own almond meal. I will have to strain the meal more to remove the coarse ones. They are actually not that complicated to make than I thought. Next time, I’ll try aging the egg whites and different filing.

“The best way to prepare for life is to begin to live.”
-Elbert Hubbard

Leave a Reply

