The Softest Bread I’ve Made To Date: Silky Soft Milk Bread

One of my cooking bucket list,  is to be able to  make great breads. While homemade breads taste better than store bought ones, my homemade breads always turn out a little denser specially the loaves ones. Few weeks ago, I thought of making Asian breads for something different. There’s a Taiwanese bakery I’m familiar with called 85°C Bakery Café in So. California. Their breads are very soft and my favorite is their melt in your mouth taro bread though we haven’t been there a while because of crazy long lines. So, I searched for Asian bread recipe and found this recipe from The Fresh Loaf. This uses a technique called Tangzhong.

image

The dry ingredients.

image

The 2% milk, previously frozen cream and butter.

image

Tangzhong. I used 1 cup of 2% milk. My thermometer can only go up to 220°F . So, I just made sure that I keep mixing  the mixture until it is a pudding like.

image

This dough is very sticky but I don’t want to put too much flour that it might make bread dense. I just added flour just enough that I could roll the dough with my hands, I used total of 4.5 cups.

image

First rise.

image

image

Second rise… about 30 minutes. I brushed them with milk.

image

Out from the oven after 40 mins @ 350°F. I tented them with foil since the tops are getting too brown. And I made sure their temps are at least 190°F. Underdone bread is my worst enemy.

image

image

A closer look.  It’s delicious, almost like brioche and silky soft.  I’ll use Tangzhong from now on with breads. I couldn’t wait to make french toast or put red bean or taro paste next time.

“Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing himself.” 
― Leo Tolstoy

9 thoughts on “The Softest Bread I’ve Made To Date: Silky Soft Milk Bread

  1. This looks outstanding! And I love your step-by-step photos. I’m tempted to try to make this but I’m hesitant since I don’t bake a lot. And thanks for visiting my blog too!

  2. Pingback: Hotdogs Twisted On A Bun | the working mom cooks

  3. Pingback: Ham and Cheese Pocket Sandwich | the working mom cooks

  4. Pingback: Tuna Melt Buns | the working mom cooks

  5. Pingback: Chicken Barbecue Buns | the working mom cooks

Leave a Reply

