Toaster Tarts aka Homemade Pop Tarts

I wanted to make breakfast treat for my kid. He loves peanut butter with jelly. And he always ask for this every time we got loaves. Then, I thought of pop tarts. I could stuff the tarts with peanut butter jelly and easy to bring when we are going out just like a cookie.

I found this recipe from King Arthur flour. Their pastry recipe is very rich and I’m sure it is delicious but I found some other recipes they used store bought pie crust. And since I have vegetable shortening, I decided to follow the pie crust recipe from Crisco. While I don’t know if shortening is healthier than butter but to me this pie crust got less fat and no need for an egg.

Ok let’s start baking.

image

image

image
I used cold milk in replaced of water.

image

image

I decided to use 2 filings – hazelnut and peanut butter jelly.
image

image

image

image
I pricked the top. Then, I put them in the fridge overnight.
image
image
The jelly dried up quickly in the oven and didn’t ruin the tarts.

image
The glaze. About 1 tbsp water , about 1 tbsp lemon juice and 3/4 – 1 cup of powdered sugar.

image
Some sprinkles.
image
The nuttela one.
image
The peanut butter jelly.

They are flaky and not way too sweet. My kid finished his peanut butter one.

“Reality is too much to take in heapfuls, but sprinkle it sparingly upon life’s path and most can tread it lightly.”
-Astrid Alaudahow 

Leave a Reply

