Hawaii Day 18: Goodbye Hawaii

Today we are flying back home. It is sad to say goodbye to Hawaii but I do feel I’m ready to face my reality. The burn-out and stress are gone. Our flight is at 9 p.m. so we still have about a day to roam.

After checking out, we headed to Paia for a stroll. We did window shopping and went to this supermarket called Mana Foods to grabbed some snacks for the plane ride. Then, we stopped at Paia Fish Market.
image
Clam chowder and calamari.
image
image
The fish steak is really good. They mean it when they say they grill fish to perfection.

After lunch, we stopped at Hookipa Beach Park to stare the turquoise ocean.
IMG_2238

IMG_2239

IMG_2241
Then we headed to Maui mall just to burn more time.
IMG_2244
There’s a Fun Factory inside the mall and my kid won 300 tickets on one of the games and got this cute dino plush toy.

My husband suggested to check in early the luggages then get out of the airport again so we have a lot less to carry later when we check in.

My husband wanted to go back to Cafe O’Lei for sushi. So we drove all the way back to Kihei. Then we found out they are close for renovation. So, we went back to the airport area in Kahului to eat at Da Kitchen.
image
image
The pasta is a chicken lime alfredo. We also ordered banana lumpia for desert but I forgot to take a picture of it and it was good. The first restaurant we had in Maui is also the last one. And that’s the last stop. I find flights going back home more tiring for some reason. Then, back to reality. It was a great family getaway.
On my personal preference, I did like Big Island more than Maui. I love seing something different and that’s Big Island for me. I find Maui too modern for a paradise but then again if you go to road to Hana, you’ll experience the paradise. We did enjoy both and hopefully someday we’ll be back on both islands. Here’s my rank on the main 4 Hawaiian Islands:
4. Oahu
3. Maui
2. Big Island
1. Kauai
Every island got their own flavor. Each one is worth visiting.

“Once you have traveled, the voyage never ends, but is played out over and over again in the quietest chambers. The mind can never break off from the journey.”
― Pat Conroy

One thought on “Hawaii Day 18: Goodbye Hawaii

Leave a Reply

