Balsamic Strawberry Ice Cream

I saw this ice cream recipe from Fine Cooking.  I do have some strawberries. I got balsamic vinegar that has been put aside for while since we just need some break from balsamic-olive oil-honey salad dressing that I always make before. I still have remaining cream and half and half from last time. I never had balsamic vinegar and strawberry combination on a desert before but I’m willing to give it a try. It’s always fun to try something different.
I used the same base cream recipe from my previous post minus vanilla and only 2 cups cream, 2 cups half & half and reduced sugar to 3/4 cup.

image
I used 3 cups of halves strawberries.

image

Strawberry,  sugar and balsamic vinegar.

image
I tasted it after the boil… I could not taste any vinegar, it’s just like I put lemon juice on it.

image
The base cream and puree are chilled overnight. I didn’t mix the puree and cream together. Now time to make ice cream.
image

I added the puree in the last 5 minutes of freezing. I didn’t have enough room to put all the strawberry puree. So, I just swirled the rest of the puree with the ice cream before putting it in the freezer.

Ice cream time…
image

image
There’s absolutely no vinegar taste to it at all. I didn’t tell my husband at first that I put balsamic vinegar. So, I asked him how does it taste like and he said, it tastes good and he really likes the strawberry flavor on it. Then, I told him that I put balsamic and he tried to taste it again but he couldn’t taste anything weird. All of us actually like this one more than the french vanilla one I made last time.

“Words are easy, like the wind; Faithful friends are hard to find.”
 ― William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

