Mango Coconut Ice Cream

This is the last batch of ice cream from the cream and half and half in my fridge. I probably won’t make ice cream yet anytime soon. Before summer ends, I want to take advantage of delicious yellow mangoes. This recipe from Epicurious uses store bought mango puree and I used fresh ones. This recipe is not a custard type (less eggs). I used half and half instead of milk just to finish it before its expire date.
image

image
When I bought them, they are mostly green. When they turned yellow, they got wrinkly but they are sweet.

image

Pureed and stained.

image

Cream and coconut mixture with the puree.

image

Mango mixture mixed in egg mixture.

image

image

image

image
It got very mango taste and it’s delish. There were comments about not having the coconut taste on the ice cream. I could taste a mild coconut flavor on it but probably because I used fresh champagne mangoes and different from the alphonso ones. What’s good about ice cream, they are in freezer. When you got sweet cravings or guests, you got something to serve.

“I have learned over the years that when one’s mind is made up, this diminishes fear; knowing what must be done does away with fear.”
 – Rosa Parks

One thought on “Mango Coconut Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Mango Tres Leche Cake | the working mom cooks

Leave a Reply

