Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls

image

image

Last month, we went to a breakfast place and my hubby really liked the warm cinnamon roll he got with his order.  He asked me last week if I could make one. For me, sticky buns and cinnamon rolls are like cousins. I went searching anyway for the best of the best cinnamon roll recipe.  Well, I found one from Epicurious that uses yukon potatoes and according to the recipe, yukon makes the rolls amazingly moist and soft. But I didn’t feel like buying potatoes this time. I just want to use whatever I already have. Since Fall is around the corner, my brain somehow  sees boots and pumpkins. I still got canned pumpkin purees from last year’s Thanksgiving. Then my brain asked what if I put pumpkin puree instead of potatoes? And I found this pumpkin cinnamon rolls recipe from Smitten Kitchen.

image
Making the rolls.
image
image
I reduced the sugars a bit.
image
I’m smitten with their lovely orange color. I made the rolls the night before and put them in the fridge.

Ahh.. Sunday morning! Time to bake…
image
I baked them at 350°F for 25 minutes. They look amaziiiing…
image
I added lemon zest on the frosting.
image
image
Soft inside and a little chewy in the bottom because of the caramelized sugar in the pan. And great thing about them, they are not too sweet. Absolutely delicious! These will be great breakfast at work to fight Monday blues.

“Humor is mankind’s greatest blessing.” -Mark Twain 

Leave a Reply

