Carnitas, Mango Salsa and Tortillas

image

This is a Mexican food from scratch and just throw everything in the pot.

Here’s the delicious carnitas recipe from Epicurious.

image
Onions, oranges, garlic, bay leaves, I used regular oregano, salt and a tablespoon of condensed milk.

image
After 2 hours. I removed the meat and let the juice to evaporate.
image
Browned in the oven. The meat has a lot of flavor.

For the salsa, I decided to used mangoes instead of tomatoes for a change and make it fruitier with the hint of orange flavor on the meat. Everything was thrown to the bowl then mix until combined.

image
Green mangoes, cilantro, lime juice, and salt.

I also tried making my own tortillas. It was actually very easy, way tastier than store bought ones but since I didn’t have lard (and won’t probably use one), I used vegetable shortening and my tortillas came out crispy like crackers… ok let’s call it crispy no fry tostadas. I think shortening is the reason why they became like cracker. I’ll try butter next time. This is probably the reason why they use shortening for pie crust, it makes the crust flaky. The flour tortilla recipe is also from Epicurius.

image
Flour, salt and shortening. And again, I threw everything in the bowl with the warm water and vegetable oil and mixed.

image

image
Time to eat…
image
It’s simple, delicious and it tasted authentic Mexican food.

“You never forget a beautiful thing that you have made,’ [Chef Bugnard] said. ‘Even after you eat it, it stays with you – always.” 
― Julia Child

4 thoughts on “Carnitas, Mango Salsa and Tortillas

Leave a Reply

