Alfajores de Dulce de Leche

image

Last week,  I made carnitas by braising the meat with orange and a tablespoon of condensed milk. I don’t like food waste.  I keep left over stuff on the freezer and that’s why my freezer is always pack. Well, I know I could make dulce de leche from the left over condensed milk. Then,  I found this  recipe from Martha Stewart website. Not only I could use my condensed milk but also use the remaining half orange. I never had these cookies before. I never heard of them before. But I knew it’s going to be delicious and boy I was absolutely right!

image

I added orange zest on the dough. The dough is wet like a cake batter. It’s a little bit difficult to make them uniform. Next time I pipe them to have a better round shape. And I thought of this after I finished baking them.

image

Baked them at 350°F for 17 minutes.

image

The cookies themselves are delicious!  They are soft like madeleines.

For the filling, I toasted some coconuts and made dulce de leche. My mother who makes dulce de leche by boiling the can of condensed milk. Since mine was already out of the can, I found this recipe using an oven. I baked it for 1.5 hours at 425°F but still not as golden color as I wanted. I’ll bake it longer next time.

image

To assemble…

image

image

“Autumn…the year’s last, loveliest smile.” 
― William Cullen Bryant

4 thoughts on “Alfajores de Dulce de Leche

  1. The pictures are really “tempting” although I have to admit I’m not a dulce de leche fan … at all! When I used to live in Argentina, people were obsessed with it but it is way too sweet for my taste.

    • The cookies are great even without any filling (if you like soft cookie type). I agree with you…I can’t eat dulce de leche like an ice cream that I used to when I was younger(I guess it’s a sign that I’m already 30!)

Leave a Reply

