Homemade Soft Pretzels II

image

My husband who’s originally from NYC has undying love for soft pretzels. Me as the west coast girl, I never really  appreciate them before until I got a chance to eat pretzel in Philadelphia inside the Reading Terminal Market. They are the best tasting pretzels I’ve had. This is my second attempt. The first attempt wasn’t that very successful.  They got this bitterness on them because I think, my water and baking soda ratio wasn’t right. I tried it again this time using this recipe from King Arthur Flour. The difference is that this time, the baking soda bath is not on rolling boil when soaking the pretzels. I fear baking soda bath after my first attempt. I always think it will have this bitter taste.  It’s not that I’m afraid to fail. I have failed many times in every aspects of my life. It’s just time is my enemy. When I make mistakes, finding time to redo the recipe is very difficult. 

Making the pretzel dough. ..

image

I doubled the recipe, I used 1 cup bread flour and 4 cups of AP flour.

image

I like this size – 1.8 oz.

image

I used garlic-parmesan topping – crushed garlic and parmesan.

image

The baking soda bath. The recipe asked for 2 minutes soak. But because of my phobia, I only let them soaked for a minute.

image

I used 2 cups water and 4 Tbsp of baking soda.

image

Soaked.

image

Drained.

image

Topped with toppings.  I topped some with sea salt and left the pretzel dogs as is.

image

Baked for 475°F for 9 minutes.

image

Brushed them with melted butter.

image

They tasted delicious. Although they are a little bit lacking of the chewiness since I didn’t follow the 2 minutes soaking rule.  But no bitterness at all.  I think it will be fine even if I let them soaked for 2 minutes as long my ratio is right. I’ll definitely do that next time.

“…no one is born a great cook, one learns by doing.” 
― Julia Child

Leave a Reply

