Mango Tres Leche Cake

image

There are 3 things I look for on making desserts – it should worth my time, effort and calories. Last summer, I made coconut ice cream and I did have extra mango puree. So I tucked it in the freezer because I know I’m want to put this on a cake. Last weekend, I made this as our anniversary cake. This recipe is from Fine Cooking. The original recipe is called Boozy Berry Topped Tres Leche Cake. I omitted the booze to make it kid friendly and used the mango puree with the whipped cream.

image
The tres milks for soaking:condensed milk, evaporated milk and heavy cream. image
image
image
I used 2 round pans so I don’t have to serve it all at once and I could freeze the other for unexpected potluck, guests or for some other time when we crave for desserts (or maybe I don’t need to hide it).
image
350°F for 20 minutes.

image
I soaked them overnight which is actually better since the cake have more time to absorb the leches.
image
Whipped cream, powdered sugar, vanilla, lemon zest and mango puree.

image
image
It’s delicious. This is the best tasting tres Leche cake we ever eaten. It has a hint of mango but any fruits will do and even without whipped cream.

“Real love stories never have endings.” 
—Richard Bach

2 thoughts on “Mango Tres Leche Cake

Leave a Reply

