Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

image

I finally made perfect chocolate chip cookies! This is the first thing I made when I got a mixer (Dec. of last year) but I never made them right until now. At that time, I didn’t know how to spoon and level flour, didn’t know how important to have a room temp butter and the chocolate chips I got were too sweet. They were my first baking experiments! After the mistakes, I moved on to different cookies, brownies, cakes and just got a chance to revisit this classic comfort cookie. I found this cookbook called Back In the Day Bakery Cookbook in the library. For some reason, I just find the book cover cute and didn’t even know what kind of recipes are inside and I took it home.
I would say this cookbook contains the classic comfort foods that are common in American bakeries nothing fancy. I’ve been to Savannah 5 years ago and I never knew they have this cool bakery. There’s so much things I don’t know! After hard decision on which recipe I’m going to try, I decided to start with the chocolate chip recipe.

image

I used Guittard’s semi-sweet chocolate chips for this recipe and they are perfect!

image
I scooped about 2 teaspoons of dough to make them smaller. With this smaller size, it takes about 8-10 minutes to bake.
image
I’ve made these the night before the start of my long weekend (veteran’s day). I was excited at first both on long weekend and getting back to my kitchen, then I started feeling sleepy and tired. I was thinking, why not make these tomorrow! Since I already have the dough made and half were already baked, I just kept baking with eyes half open. And I’m glad I did! We can’t stop eating these cookies during the long weekend.
image

image
Crunchy outside, chewy inside and with perfect sweetness. I didn’t have fleur de sel and still turned out addicting.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
from The Back In the Day Bakery Cookbook

2 ½ cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1 ¼ teaspoons baking soda
1 ¼ teaspoons fine sea salt
½ pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup granulated sugar
1 cup packed light brown sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
2 cups semisweet chocolate chunks
Fleur de sel for sprinkling

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat the oven to 350’F. Line two cookie sheets with parchment.
Sift together the flour, baking soda, and sea salt; set aside.
In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together the butter, vanilla, and both sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy, 3 to 5 minutes.
Add the eggs and mix for no more than 1 minute; the eggs will not be fully incorporated. Turn the speed down to low and add the dry ingredients in thirds, beating until just combined, 1 to 2 minutes. With the mixer running, sprinkle in the chocolate chunks, beating until just combined, about 1 minute.
Use a large ice cream scoop or a ¼-cup measuring cup to form the cookies and place on the prepared cookie sheets, leaving 2 inches between the cookies to allow for spreading. Lightly tap each cookie with the palm of your hand and sprinkle the cookies with fleur the sel.
Bake the cookies, one sheet at a time, for 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through the baking time for even doneness. The cookies should be golden brown around the edges but still light in the centers. Let the cookies cool on a wire rack. Store the cookies in an airtight container for up to 3 days at room temperature.

In the cookie of life, sisters are the chocolate chip!
-Unknown

4 thoughts on “Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

