Homemade Choco-Mallows

image

I apologize for my long absence. I’m having trouble going back to my normal routine with all the holidays 🙂 . This is the time of the year when I just want to spend more time with my family, decorating, shopping and of course cooking foods for the people I love and care. For now, I’m posting about a homemade classic childhood favorite candy/desserts, choco-mallows.

One of many things I want to learn is candy making.  Early this year, I’ve made marshmallows. I was surprised how easy to make them at home and I decided to make them again to have something handy for sweet potato desserts (which I haven’t made yet) or some other marshmallow contained sweets. Due to lack of time in the kitchen lately, I just want to make something simple.

Here’s my previous post on homemade marshmallows.

image

Here’s my new batch of pillowy and gooey mallows. They freeze pretty well, so they could be prepared ahead of time.

Choco-mallows
Adapted from choco-mallow by King Arthur Flour and homemade marshmallows by Martha Stewart.

Step 1. Roast the mallows using kitchen torch.
image

Step 2. Roast the nuts, I used pecans.
image

Step 3. Melt the chocolate. I used these unsweetened chocolates that I got on sale so, I added 1 cup of sugar, 2 1/2 T of butter and substituted cocoa powder for espresso (kiddie friendly) for bittersweet. Adapted from chocolate substitution chart by What’s Cooking America.
image

Step 4. Layer the goodies.
image

image

image

image

Step 5. Cut into pieces once chocolate is chilled.
image

image

This is like another variations of peanut butter cup with mallows in the middle.

Happy holidays everyone! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Homemade Choco-Mallows

Leave a Reply

