Brown Velvet Birthday Cake

image

Hello 2014! While it’s time to shake off those extra pounds gained from Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year, I’m posting this velvet cake I made for my dear son for his 4th birthday. So as a mommy dear, this cake meant very special to me. We decided to celebrate his 4th birthday by spending 2 days at the happiest place on earth (Disneyland and adventure parks). When we parents, gave him the warmest birthday greetings, he said…”but I don’t have a birthday cake? “. So, I promised him that I’ll make him a birthday cake on Christmas since his birthday is less than a week before Christmas.

This is actually my first which i call a traditional cake- cake in layers with icing. While it’s not the best looking cake, I still have a long way to go on decorating. I actually feel proud about it. šŸ™‚

Brown Velvet Cake adapted from Fine Cooking’s Red Velvet Cake.
image
The cake has a delicious chocolate flavor on it from 1/2 cup of dutch processed cocoa but also darker color which needs lots of red coloring. After putting half of the small bottle of food coloring, I just left it brown.
image
Baked at 350 F for 40 minutes. I left the cakes on the pans in the fridge overnight.

White Chocolate Cream Cheese Icing adapted from The Journal Times from Rose Levy Beranbaum.

image
Melted white chocolates, cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar and almond extract.
image
I cut the 2 cakes in half to have 4 layers and in between, I put the icing. Then covered the cake more with icing.
image
For the writings, it was actually a left over chocolate donuts glaze – powdered sugar, chocolate powder, salt and water. I need practice to write on icing!

image

I toasted a cup of pecans and was only good to cover halfway on the sides. Next time, I’ll put more pecans, they actually added nice flavor to the cake.
image
The cake was very delicious. My little boy was happy when he saw the cake and blew his candle. Everybody enjoyed the cake. My mother who rarely gives compliments on food and almost never when it comes to sweets, actually went back for a second slice. šŸ™‚

“All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much.”
~George Harrison

15 thoughts on “Brown Velvet Birthday Cake

  1. Happy birthday to your little one!!! The cake looks amazing and I’m sure that it tasted even better if it was able to please the demanding palate of your mommy! By the way, I totally relate because my parents are really demanding too! šŸ™‚

  2. Hey don’t sweat it about the decorating part. As a hobby decorator my first rule is that even if it looks fabulous, if it doesn’t taste good its a fail. It is THE most important thing. (and it looks pretty good to me.)
    Just wanted to thank you for fallowing my blog and tell you I like yours to.

    The trick to a red velvet cake is using the good concentrated jell or paste colors….and using ALOT.
    Your cake looks delicious and I think I might check out that frosting recipe for my self!

  3. oh you should be very proud of this! It is the perfect birthday cake for a little boy šŸ™‚ All those layers and the filling–I am mad about it. Totally into homemade birthday cakes that look nothing like the perfect (flavorless) models sold in mass market bakeries. Your cake rocks! Here is a silly one I made for my youngest last year: http://wp.me/p2dvv9-Q9 (never mind Ryan Gosling–he showed up long after the post was written.)

Leave a Reply

