Lemon Curd Almond Tart

image

During my holiday days off, I finally got a chance to try this bakery. We tried some restaurants close by to it, that we always ended up too full to skip the bakery for next time. When we finally got there, each of us picked whatever we like and while I did like all the 3 goodies we got, there’s one I really like the most – the lemon curd tart (I forgot the actual name of the tart and even the bakery). It got nice balance of tartness and sweetness. The lemon curds and small raspberries are scattered on the small tart and covered with a brown, buttery, nutty filling. Holidays are over and now recouping from post holiday blues,  I’ve been dreaming about it until I decided to stop the dream by recreating it this past weekend πŸ™‚

First, let’s talk about lemon curd. I love lemons! It now became a habit of mine to get the rinds of the lemons/oranges and freeze them every time I use them on a recipe. Rinds add great flavor to bake goodies or even on veggies like asparagus or green beans. But I was not a fan of lemon/lime based desserts like lemon bars or key lime pie. I will eat them but not my favorite. Maybe I haven’t tried a good one. One of my uncles gets bountiful lemons from his backyard and gives them away. So when I received some, I made lemon curd for curiosity.

Lemon Curd adapted from Fine Cooking.
image
I followed the recipe to the T. When I tasted it, it was really tart, not very pleasant kick to your tongue! I looked around on my kitchen for a rescue and found condensed milk. It did mellow down the tartness though sweeter than I wanted to but did work well on this tart and another dessert I’ll be posting next time.

For the crust, I made homemade pie crust for the first time.
Basic Flaky Pie Crust from Epicurious.
image
image

I made two. The one on the left, was rolled out too thin (I used it for a quiche) and the one on the right, got just right amount of thickness (I used it for this tart). There’s a lot of steps involve in the recipe but I was fascinated that I was able to lift the crust with my roller without breaking. While store-bought pie crust is convenient, good to learn how to whip it up right on my kitchen than driving down the store for one item. I’m forgetful and poor planner sometimes.

For the filling… after my research on the mystery brown-buttery-nutty filling, I found out that it should be a frangipane or almond paste.

Frangipane filling adapted from Epicurious.

I attempted to make my almond paste using this recipe from Taste of Home.
image
I didn’t make it to the consistency of a paste but it was fine besides this needs to be mixed with eggs and butter. I reduced the amount of almond extract because I think it might be too overpowering. And glad I did!
image
Frangipane mixture.

To assemble the tart…
image
Lemon curd on the bottom.
image
Frangipane mixture.
image
Ready to bake.
image
Out from the oven.
image
Dusted with powdered sugar once cooled. It’s best when chilled. And yes, this was the tart (minus the raspberries) on my dream! While it was delicious, mine has more distinct almond flavor from the almond paste recipe but next time, total 1/8 tsp of almond extract should be sufficient.

Yes, this needs preparations in advance but definitely worth the efforts. What can I say, I do everything to achieve a dream πŸ˜€

“Unless you are a professional, you will find the tart to be a high-maintenance, unforgiving whistle-blower of a pastry.”
~Sloane CrosleyΒ 

5 thoughts on “Lemon Curd Almond Tart

  1. Pingback: Lemon Meringue Roulade | the working mom cooks

Leave a Reply

