Perfect Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs

image

image

As much as I love to learn new recipes just like many of you, don’t always have time in the kitchen. In spite of time shortage, I still want to learn something new, quick and of course yummy (which is sometimes a challenge to look for one that fits all these πŸ™‚ ).

I still have half of the chicken thighs I used for sweet potato waffles and chicken last time. Though the chickens just turned out ok, I have no plan of doing deep frying again – for now. I found this crispy-skin chicken thigh recipe with no frying involve and absolutely no fancy ingredients. The recipe didn’t look interesting at all at first glance but I was intrigued with the description – “delicious as bacon”. And they really mean it. This recipe is from Bon Appetit.

image
Chicken thighs, 1 Tbsp vegetable oil, salt and pepper.

image
Brown the skins until they are golden in color. Then transfer the pan and chickens in the oven. The recipe didn’t ask to cover the pot but I can’t help not to cover it with the splattering oil and turned out just fine. I think the trick here is cooking the chickens using the fat from their skins which make them very tasty. I also believe that using a cast iron pan that feels like heavier than me, makes the food taste better.

image
Out in the oven. Crispy skin, tender and cooked thoroughly inside and so delicious…and it’s true, it’s delicious as bacon. I can now say goodbye to fried chicken. According to my husband this is the best chicken I’ve made. And I agree, it’s also the simplest and easiest chicken recipe.

“You don’t want to make a steady diet of just lettuce. You don’t want to make a steady diet of fried chicken.”
~Paula DeenΒ 

2 thoughts on “Perfect Pan-Roasted Chicken Thighs

Leave a Reply

