Lemon Meringue Roulade

image

Since next week is already Valentine’s day, I think it’s time to bring out some luscious desserts on the table.

During the Thanksgiving, while some are trying out new recipes days before the big day and others already have recipes that are considered as their family tradition. And I took it as an opportunity to experiment for a new dessert that night before. I got egg whites in the freezer and decided to make a meringue cake roll from them. I thought bringing something different from pies, airy and little tart will be nice for those who just want something light to finish up a hearty meal.

I adapted the recipe from Food and Wine. I made this the night before the big feast and I forgot to take pictures before the baking. But here it is once baked…
image
I used 8 egg whites, reduced the sugar to half from the recipe and added 1/2 tsp of cream of tartar. I baked it for about 20 minutes just until it’s light golden brown at 350 F.

image
I flipped the meringue on a cloth.
image
Peeled the parchment paper.

image
For the filling, I folded lemon curd and whipped cream. This is the same lemon curd I used for lemon curd almond tart. I actually made this one first, lemon curd freezes pretty well.
image
Spread the filling.
image
Roll it with the help of the kitchen cloth. It’s very long, I used 9×13 baking pan. I cut it to half, so it will be easier to carry.
image
There were some small cracks from rolling but didn’t break the roulade.
image
It’s pillowy and light. The filling is creamy, sweet and tart that gave a nice contrast to the sweetness of the meringue. It’s also great when serve with fresh fruits like red berries(for Valentine’s). And also filling could also be anything you like.

When life gives you lemons, you make lemon meringue roulade. πŸ˜‰

4 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue Roulade

    • Almost like pavlova but this one is soft instead of crunchy. I never seen this on bakeries and I only had this on a party long time ago and the filling inside is like custard…I didn’t get a chance to ask where they got it or if homemade. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

