36 Cloves of Garlic Braised Brisket with Asparagus Vinagrette

image
I’m excited this week! Valentine’s day is this Friday and we got no work next Monday (ahh…long weekends are my favorites 🙂 ). I’m posting this elegant meal that was supposed to be during the super bowl but we ended up eating out for lunch and had enough left over for dinner. I thought it is special enough to make for special occasions such as Valentine’s if you’re like me who got kid in tow would rather (and maybe no choice) celebrate it at home with a special homemade meal or dessert not only for my husband but also for my little boy. I braised the meat on a late Sunday afternoon (super bowl) then finished it up on a Tuesday night dinner.

This 36 cloves of garlic brisket recipe is from Epicurious. I had a hard time finding a recipe for a brisket cut of meat. This meat actually been on my freezer for a month before I found a recipe that I like, though it takes a long time to cook in the oven, it didn’t need much work.
image
Brown the meat, brown the garlics, add the herbs, chicken stocks and red wine vinegar. I’ve seen the chicken version of this online. I think the chicken version needs 40 cloves. I never had both versions before.
image
The meat I got was very lean so it took about 3.5 hours to make it tender.
image
I pureed all the garlics for the gravy and including the herbs. Then add more minced garlics and lemon zests. Garlic overload but delicious.

I don’t discriminate salad. I eat salad almost everyday but for this special meat, I decided to change it up a bit from traditional lettuces to a little fancier salad but still fits the budget and very easy to make. This asparagus salad recipe is from Saveur.
image
Capers, olive oil, lemon juice for dressing. Blanched asparagus, boiled eggs, white onions and cherry tomatoes for the salad. This salad is wonderful for a hearty meat!
image
If I knew it was this good, I should have made it this coming Valentine’s day. But I’ll make this one again maybe on a get together. 🙂

“A friendship that like love is warm; A love like friendship, steady.”
~Thomas Moore

2 thoughts on “36 Cloves of Garlic Braised Brisket with Asparagus Vinagrette

Leave a Reply

