Steamed Pork Buns

image

I made these steamed buns before using other recipes. I love making them. Sometimes we just need a break from a crusty, golden brown, softy-inside type of bread. And make a spongy, cloudy white bread that has sweet and savory filling inside. These buns are delicious! They are just like the one you get from chinatown.

This steam bun recipe is from Fine Cooking. It also come with a barbecue roast pork recipe. And of course, you could put any filling you like, you don’t have to stick with the pork filling. Next time, I’ll try egg and sausage filling for breakfast steamed buns.

For the pork roast…
image
I used pork loin chops instead of roast. I also made my own 5 spice from here. The marinade tastes like the sauce you get from a peking duck. The recipe yields plenty of filling for the bun recipe. As it says on the recipe, left over could be used on fried rice or more batches of yummy buns. I freeze the left over for next time bun cravings. If you’re using spice grinder, I found a nice trick on how to clean your spice/coffee grinder from The Kitchn.

For the pork filling.
image
For me, the filling tasted a little too sweet when buns were freshly steamed but after hours in the fridge and reheated, they are just fine.

For the bun dough. ..
image
As I have mentioned earlier, that I’ve made them before using other recipe but this dough is way easier. No need to make a yeasted sponge. I have always struggle on shaping the dough. The good thing, there’s a video included on how to fill and seal the filling with the dough.
image
Here are the buns once steamed for about 15 minutes. They are soft, spongy, better looking than I previously made and amazingly yummy!
image
I reheat them on microwave covered with a damp paper towel.

“Mondays are the start of the work week which offer new beginnings 52 times a year!”
~David Dweck

6 thoughts on “Steamed Pork Buns

Leave a Reply

