Chocolate Fudge Cake

image
March is here! This is another delicious recipe from Ottolenghi the cookbook. This is a chocolate lover cake. I think others also call this flourless chocolate cake. Sometimes the chocolate desserts I get from restaurants while they are delicious, they are too rich for me that it makes me feel not wanting to eat chocolate again for a month. And this chocolate cake is dangerously addictive. Considering it’s made of dark chocolates, little kiddie kept asking for it. I gave this recipe a try since the previous recipe (cauliflower fritters) I made from this book turned out great.

image
I put brown sugar (muscovado on the book) and water to boil. Then poured and stirred into a bowl with unsalted butter, 52% dark chocolate and 70% dark chocolate until smooth. Then stirred the large eggs yolks until well combined. I mixed whatever semi-sweet and bittersweet chocolates I have to get close to 52% chocolate. I used scharffen berger and guittard chocolates.
image
I beat the egg whites until a little stiff then folded it with the chocolate mixture. Put 2/3 of the mixture in the pan. In the book, it’s supposed to be a springform pan but I used 9 in regular pan since didn’t have one. After making this cake, I saw the purpose of springform pan and made me purchase one. πŸ™‚
image
Baked for 45 minutes at 325 F. I kept poking it for “almost clean” check.
image
Once cooled, I flattened the cake a bit to be even then poured the remaining mixture on top. On the book, it’s also an option just to bake it all at once if feeling lazy. Since I like to complicate things sometimes, I did bake it on 2 different stages. With all the eggs and chocolates involved might as well make it something different.
image
Baked again for 25 minutes at 325 F.

image
Dusted with dutch cocoa powder.
image
It has the fudgy and mousse like texture on a bite and tastes ahhhmazing. So, yes springform pan is necessary for this cake. I struggled taking out a slice though it didn’t matter much since the whole cake didn’t last that long.

“Your hand and your mouth agreed many years ago that, as far as chocolate is concerned, there is no need to involve your brain.”
~Dave Barry

17 thoughts on “Chocolate Fudge Cake

    • Thanks! I never really consider grabbing cookbooks with all the easy Internet access recipes before (that are also great). For a cookaholic like me, these paper books are still great resource. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

