Crispy Fried Tofu With Green Onions and Soy Sauce

image

I feel like I just said hello to March not too long ago and we’re now heading to April next week. Time flies!

I recently discovered this healthy (ahem…when did I ever make something healthy?), easy-to-make tofu dish but surprisingly delicious and tasted like authentic chinese food.

This dish is originally called black pepper tofu by Ottolenghi (yes, him again from his cookbook called Plenty).
This recipe can also be found here at Saveur. I revised the recipe a bit to make it kid friendly and substituted the ingredients I have on hand. My version is very mild in spice (ingredients could be easily adjusted to your preference) but still very tasty.

image
Fry the tofu. Coat 1 3/4 lbs of extra firm tofu cut in 1 inch cubes with corn starch. Deep fry the tofu in batches in hot oil (350 F) until golden brown.

image
Prepare the sauce. 10 tbsp of light sodium soy sauce (kikoman) and 4 tbsp of agave nectar (could use sugar or honey).

image
SautΓ© small thinly sliced onion, 12 crushed cloves of garlics, and 3 tbsp of finely chopped ginger in 6 tbsp of butter (or 11 tbsp of butter in the original recipe) until soft and aromatic.
image
Add the sauce in the pan, then fried tofu. Season with black pepper. Stir until sauce is thicken. Stir green onions. Serve over rice.

My husband said this is the best tofu he ever eaten. And my not-so-food-adventurous parents enjoyed this.

See you all at the Fiesta Friday at The Novice Gardener ! πŸ˜‰

“The mind is like tofu. It tastes like whatever you marinate it in.”
~Sylvia Boorstein

27 thoughts on “Crispy Fried Tofu With Green Onions and Soy Sauce

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #9 | The Novice Gardener

  2. My husband is also not a tofu eater, but he ate the black pepper tofu I made from Ottolenghi and loved it. I love how peppery the original recipe is, and don’t even bother to fry the tofu anymore because the sauce has so much flavor. However, it is too peppery for some guests, so I should think about adapting it too next time. I love your adaptation with agave nectar–very inspired. Looks delicious!

  3. My daughter and I love tofu, especially fried! Hubby and son not so much. This looks like a winner, though, so crunchy-looking, they’ll probably like it. I’m a little obsessed with Ottolenghi myself! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

