Brown Butter, Peanut Butter and Jelly Blondies

image

I find out that today is National Peanut Butter and Jelly day! In honor of the holiday, I’m posting this classic combination on blondies. I’ve made the popular peanut butter jelly bars before but we thought they were too sweets. These blondies are just perfectly sweet, salty and buttery (with nutty flavor of brown butter).

Roasted peanuts for topping.
image
I made my own roasted peanuts instead of buying the honey roasted one.
1. Mix 1/4 cup of sugar, about 1/8 cup of agave nectar and pinch of salt.
2. Bring sugar mixture to boil until sugar is dissolved.
3. Stir 1 cup of unsalted peanuts.
4. Bake at 350 F until golden brown (20-25 minutes).
They turned out like peanut brittle but worked just fine with this blondies (they are actually yummy).

This blondie recipe is from Bon Appetit. I browned the butter for an extra nutty tweak.
image
Mix all wet ingredients then fold the dry ingredients.
image
Transfer the batter in a baking pan, dollop some strawberry jelly (not too much) and top with the roasted nuts. Bake at 350 F for 35-40 minutes. Sprinkle some flaky salt/fleur de sel.

They are perfect for school/work lunch boxes. 🙂

“Man cannot live by bread alone; he must have peanut butter.”
~James A. Garfield

17 thoughts on “Brown Butter, Peanut Butter and Jelly Blondies

  1. This is a first for me! Before moving to the U.S. I didn’t even know the peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Not very popular in my country but here kids are crazy about it.

  2. oh good gosh–I can not go another day without having one (or two or three) of these bars. Guess I’ll be making a pan soon! Thanks for the recipe and story. And I did not know today is Nat’l pb and j day–love it.

  3. Ooh…yummy! I want to eat that peanut topping all by itself! Love the quote about man needing to have peanut butter (too bad for my brother, who’s allergic to peanuts)!

Leave a Reply

