Gooey Cinnamon Cake

image

The “gooey” or “ooey” word is just too tempting for someone who has a sweet tooth syndrome. I was browsing for recipes at David Lebovitz (one of my favorite food blogs). And I found this Gooey Cinnamon Cake recipe on his blog. It’s a simple cake with a special twist, it got 2 different layers – bottom one is cakey and top is soft and a little chewy (ooey-gooey in other word).

image
The base. Flour, baking powder, butter, sugar, salt and milk.

image
The gooey layer. I used agave nectar for corn syrup, milk, butter, vanilla, sugar, salt, flour and egg (which I forgot, saw this lonely egg in the counter when I was about to slip this in the oven) .

See? The only thing unusual could be the corn syrup but could be replaced with honey or agave.

image
Topped with cinnamon and sugar mixture. Sounds like snickerdoodles isn’t it?

image
Baked at 350 F at 25 minutes. The missing egg on the gooey layer, didn’t affect the cake (though it should have added richness to it). Those wrinkly edges are the best part of the cake, they got a little crunch plus gooey goodness.
image

It’s a great cake for dessert and snacking.

Come and join us at Fiesta Friday @ The Novice Gardener. πŸ™‚

“A great empire, like a great cake, is most easily diminished at the edges.”
~Benjamin Franklin

39 thoughts on “Gooey Cinnamon Cake

  1. Love cake in any form, but this looks delicious! Love the cinnamon sugar topping too. It does look like a snickerdoodle…does it taste like one too? Regardless, if it tastes half as good as it looks, it would be phenomenal πŸ˜€

    • This one tastes better for me. I made snickerdoodles cookies before, my husband enjoyed them but me and my son didn’t like the slight bitterness on them caused by the cream of tartar. This is like a simple butter cake but with gooey topping (the star on this cake). πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #10 | The Novice Gardener

  3. I too am a big fan of David Lebowitz, but never seen this one before. Thanks for bringing it to my attention and to all the Fiesta Friday guests.

  4. What an amazing looking cake–so fluffy and moist. I can almost taste the cinnamon just looking at these photos. What a delightful treat to bring to a party!

Leave a Reply

