Biscuits and Gravy

image

It feels good to be back πŸ™‚ . Life is sometimes funny. Once you get comfortable with things, it will shake you up. Life is just a series of moving on! While I still have a lot of catching up to do here and trying to settle down with new changes, I’ll do a quick post of this classic.

This classic southern breakfast recipe is from Saveur.

Making the biscuits.

image

Flour, butter, baking powder, salt and buttermilk. No buttermilk? You can make your own from this recipe by mixing vinegar or lemon juice with milk. I made the biscuits the night before and kept them in the fridge.

Making the gravy.

image

I used pancetta for bacon, breakfast sausages, flour, milk, cream/half and half, apple cider vinegar, paprika/cayenne and salt & pepper to taste .

image

Baked at 425 F for about 25 minutes or until golden brown.

image

I realized after taking this picture that the proper way to serve this is to split the biscuit then cover it with gravy πŸ™‚ . This is very easy to make and how can you go wrong with breakfast sausage?

I’ve been MIA lately but I’m still on time with FF#14 at The Novice Gardener. See you all there! πŸ™‚

“You can’t stop the future
You can’t rewind the past
The only way to learn the secret
…is to press play.”
~Jay Asher

28 thoughts on “Biscuits and Gravy

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #14 and Fiesta Friday Challenge #1 | The Novice Gardener

    • Hello Simi, nice you find my blog beautiful! I always thought my photos are gruesome but it’s not about the photos, it’s about all these homemade delicious foods I’ve been learning to make πŸ™‚

  2. Mmm yum! Southern food has been really trendy in Sydney (Australia), so I finally had proper biscuits and buttermilk sausage gravy! πŸ˜€ Yours look so good, I’m going to have to try this at home, perfect for weekends. It’s great to see you back at Fiesta Friday! πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Saucy! I never knew southern foods are really popular all the way to Australia. While I’m not from the south (I’m from West), it’s good to learn this right on my kitchen (without traveling) πŸ™‚

  3. I love biscuits and gravy, but the last time I had it in a restaurant, I was disappointed because the gravy tasted rather cornstarchy (taking shortcuts, I think they were). I’m saving your post for when the next craving hits — I’ll be making them myself to save us from the disappointment. Your biscuits look perfectly flaky and the gravy looks superb! Have a lovely Sunday!

    • I had the same experience too the last time I ordered this on a restaurant (in West coast ). I think this recipe might be better than other breakfast place and very fresh right in our own kitchen. πŸ™‚

    • Wow! Thank you so much. I’m really behind with the awards but I’m truly grateful that you have nominated me. I’ll try my best to handle acceptance once I’m more settled down on my new job. πŸ™‚

  4. as a Northern girl, I haven’t had much experience with “biscuits and gravy,” but I’ve long been fascinated as it seems a way to have supper for breakfast πŸ™‚ That gravy looks AMAZING.

    • I’m no southern girl neither. I just noticed that this became popular lately on breakfast places everywhere just like chicken and waffles. It’s a good change from sausage and egg for breakfast. πŸ™‚

  5. Those biscuits look wonderfully flaky. And very different to our British scones, that I happen to really like. When I was in the States several years ago I didn’t have the chance of eating this type of thing. Excepting an onion gravy that was served during Thanksgiving in Houston, Tx. Love home-made gravies.

Leave a Reply

